Resolutions are nice but it is RESOLVE that really matters.

As the New Year begins, we are so drawn to the concept of the clean slate and the ability to “commit” to things that we want to do. Just how long is it before we disappoint ourselves? Is it the 3rd week of January? The 3rd month of the year? Can you sustain your lofty expectations of yourself for the long haul?
Take the ever popular “new year diet.” Those that are truly successful in any weight modification strategy focus on a “lifestyle change” instead of a diet. Why is this? It seems to me that it’s because we are human and we fail. However if you change your lifestyle, you change your behavior which allows for flexibility versus the rigidity of a diet. It is just too easy to deviate from a diet which then leads to a depressing feeling of failure at each deviation.
This year, I have no resolutions. I am resolving to change some of my behavior(s). Some changes may be substantial but most will be slight tweaks that I predict will generate big rewards.
It would seem that in every part of my life and just about everyone that I work with, the focus is about behavior change. Being in the business of Training and Consulting, we work to improve the performance of employees and teams at every turn. This doesn’t mean that an employee will be flogged with each failure of demonstrated perfection. On the contrary, we celebrate the positive indications at every turn – this is called coaching!
I also spend a significant amount of my time working with college men across North America. One of the great things about working with these young men is to see just how much they embrace a principled approach to life. This approach is not a prescription for how to live out each moment; moreover it’s a guidepost for: how to maintain a character of trust and integrity, the societal engagement with humans of both genders, and the cultivation of intellect.
I enjoy what I do, I love what each day brings, and can’t wait to see what resolve 2012 brings to us all.

On a side note, I don’t try to change the behavior of my spouse – I embrace it. Trust me, it’s the right approach.

Leave a Reply

